top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHayley Black

Back to why it started !

Remember a year ago when I decided to make Amelia’s 1st Birthday cake ? My first attempt was an absolute disaster - my sister tried in vain to give me a quick baking lesson and I contacted a proper baker to make Amelia’s cake. I had to admit it to myself that I just can’t bake - or decorate cakes at all!

Then a little bit of my tenacious - stubborn - stupid (?) side came out and I decided that I like my mother did for me ; I would make my daughter herbirthday cake and I would learn to bake properly ! A year of self teaching (try and try again), blogging, self discovery, and icing sugar getting in places they really shouldn’t I’ve managed to become an ok amateur baker!

So here I am back to the drawing board designing Amelia’s 2nd Birthday cake. I’m pretty excited for this one - I’ve ordered some new fondant stencils and have decided that this will be my first 3 tier cake ! I hope I’m not biting of more than I can chew - however if I can teach myself to bake properly then surely I can push the boat out a little for this extra special little girls birthday ! The theme is Disney but I want to make sure I pay particular attention to her favourite film frozen. I’m yet to decide on flavours I’m thinking vanilla for the bottom strawberry for the middle and chocolate for the top. I may just stick to vanilla as everyone loves Victoria sponge! Fingers crossed this turns out just the way I hope ! I’m allowing myself one trial run!

So we are again back to why I set up the positive baking company blog - the long term dream is to open a cupcake cafe where people can come along and learn skills, have mindfulness classes, share, talk and of course enjoy a cupcake or two! You never know one day it may happen.

For now though I’ll continue to bake for friends and family and enjoy the therapy it gives me.

Thankyou everyone for sticking with us through sunken cakes and well risen sponge!

Happy New Year

X



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page